About SAS


The School of Applied Sciences (SAS) consists of 4 departments, 18 labs and 3 research centers. SAS has attracted a well –structured and well-qualified staff of 149 members, including 111 full-time teachers, of whom, 6 professors, 11 associate professors and 40% of teachers have doctorate degree. SAS offers 9 undergraduate programs and 10 masters and 9 doctoral programs in a wide variety of subjects ranging from the Science to Engineering and Technology.


Our mission is to educate and advance MUST students in fundamental sciences as mathematics, physics and chemistry at the highest international levels of excellence, to prepare internationally versatile specialists with the abilities to contribute to the development of national industry; to realize advanced research and education processes.

Historic outline

  • 1987 - General Academic Faculty of Polytechnic Institute
  • 1992 - Fundamental Education Center of Technical University
  • 1997 - Engineering Fundamental Education Center of Technical University
  • 2000 - School of Mathematics of MUST
  • 2000 - School of Chemical Technology of MUST
  • 2001 - School of Material Sciences of MUST
  • 2014 - School of Applied Sciences of MUST

    Study Programs

    Our school offers mathematics, physics, chemistry and physical training courses for the first and second years’ students of MUST. Meanwhile it offers undergraduate, masters, and PhD degrees. In one academic year, the School of Applied Sciences serves 7000 students of MUST and 1000 students within our school. Each year SAS involves a definite number of students in educational state fund loan and lump-sum grants, which play significant roles in resolution of the social welfare of our students. Meanwhile, students with 3.6 and higher GPA are recorded in the director’s sheet and granted back 1 to 5 credits of tuition, where students who are noticed several times in the director’s sheet and distinguished as “Best student” are included in national, company and international fellowship programs. The number of students who are included into scholarships within the agreement between the Government of Mongolia is increasing every year.

  • Bachelor’s programs

  • Statistics (2+2) joint Program with Northwestern Polytechnical University of China
  • Chemical technology (Chemical technology of inorganic substances, Coal and petroleum processing technology)
  • Chemical engineering
  • Engineering preparation program- German /2 years/  
  • Industrial Ecological Engineering
  • Nanoscience Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering (2+2) joint Program with Inner Mongolian University of Technology of China
  • Industrial Ecological Engineering (2+2) joint Program with Nanjing Tech University of China
  • Material Science
  • Master’s programs

  • Chemical Technology
  • Coal Processing Chemical Technology
  • Petroleum Processing Technology
  • Rare and Precious Metals Chemical Technology
  • Material Science and new material Technology
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Dynamic simulation of systems
  • Engineering Physics
  • Physical Ecology
  • Nanoscience Engineering
  • Doctorate programs

  • Chemical Technology
  • Coal Processing Chemical Technology
  • Petroleum Processing Technology
  • Rare and Precious Metals Chemical Technology
  • Chemical Technology of Silicates
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Engineering Physics (Physical technology / Theoretical physics and simulation)
  • Plasma Technology
  • Nanoscience Engineering
Холбоотой цэсүүд